In the State of North Carolina you are required to present and turn in a Pistol Purchase Permit in order to obtain a firearm from a private sale or a Federal Firearms License (FFL) dealer if you do not have a NC Concealed Carry Handgun license. You must apply for your pistol purchase permit in the county of your residence. Each county has their own set of rules to apply for a permit. The amount of time it takes for your application to be processed depends on the volume of requests and your counties procedures. It’s generally around $5 and the process is not uniform across North Carolina.
- Must be 21 years of age or older to purchase from an FFL and 18 for a private sale.
- Must provide current/valid ID in the form of either a NC driver’s license or NC state identification card.
- Must be a US Citizen or a permanent resident.
- Must be a resident of North Carolina for a minimum of 30 days and provide proof of residency in your county. (NC ID or driver’s license)
- Must provide a list of previous addresses back to age 16 or the past 20 years.
- Must be of good moral character as judged by your sheriff.
- Must not have any pending criminal charges that would be a disqualifying offense if convicted.
- Must pass criminal history background check. No felonies.
- Must be eligible to own, possess or receive a firearm under the provisions of state or federal law.
- Applicant must be required to authorize a mental health check – Involuntary Commitments to mental health institutions may be disqualifying.
- Must not have a current 50b or a domestic violence conviction.
- Go to your counties website and see exactly what you need.
- Complete what you can online to speed up the process.
- Get the process started a month before you feel that you want to purchase your firearm.
- Once you have it, make a copy for your own records and keep it in a designated folder.
- When you go to purchase your pistol you must bring it with you and hand over the original, even in a private sale.